Modding C&C TD ; Questions on Preliminaries

themug

Hi to all,

I am relatively new to this cncnet.org but not to the classic games. I wish to mod C&C TD.

For those interested in sharing some knowledge, please copy paste the questions with your answer in your reply.

Thanks

Here we go :

1. What C&C TD version should I use in order to Mod the game ? I own EA Ultimate Collection but I patched it with http://nyerguds.arsaneus-design.com/

2. How should I set up my mod workspace ? e.g : Be able to run the original and modded version separately.

3. In order to begin working on anything, I need to view exe, dll, etc. source codes. I have acquired most tools from the sticky thread in the modding forum discussion but I haven"t found any solid ressource in regards to source programming of the game.

I have java object oriented programming but none in the C. Any tools or advice is greatly appreciated .

That is all for now. :laugh:

There is no source to edit. It's all just messing around inside the hardcoded data inside the exe file. The only "programming" that could help you is x86 Assembler.

Anyway, it all largely depends on what you mean with "modding"; changing graphics and sounds in the game doesn't require any exe changes. But once you get to changing unit stats, that's where it all gets kinda tricky.

• 4 weeks later...

There is no source to edit. It's all just messing around inside the hardcoded data inside the exe file. The only "programming" that could help you is x86 Assembler.

Anyway, it all largely depends on what you mean with "modding"; changing graphics and sounds in the game doesn't require any exe changes. But once you get to changing unit stats, that's where it all gets kinda tricky.

I dont think the x86 assembler suggestion you shared applies, less perhaps my clarifications are made better for your understanding and applies to what I mean;