[X3M/CHEMSiSTRY]: Special Physical Properties of Water?

SiRaLeX

Hello! So we all know that water has some special properties: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Properties_of_water

[*]Water has an unusually high boiling point and is liquid at room temperature

[*]Water is most dense at 4 °C (39 F), which is kind of an anomaly (negative thermal expansion): https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Negative_thermal_expansion

[*]Water has surface tension: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Properties_of_water#Surface_tension

Does anyone understand water?  :huh:  Is this all about hydrogen bonds? I understand that the surface tension has got something to do with forces inside the glass canceling out and water on the surface being pulled downwards while having no attraction to the surrounding air.

Well, as a chemist, I do have some more knowledge about water than the average person.

And yes, most of the properties of water are due to the hydrogen bonds.

All liquids are pulled downwards, so this is not an important factor. It's due to gravity.

What also happens is that the water has "adhesion". It is pulled towards the glas (and the glas is pulled towards the water, but since it is solid, it remains). And thus crawls a bit upwards on the edges.

If there is no gravity, the water would stick mostly to the glass and might crawl around it too.

There is also cohesion, which causes water to form a ball of water in zero gravity.

Other liquids can have more cohesion than adhesion. In that case, the liquid will form a "ball" surface instead of a "pit".

Water has this with air. Thus a glas filled to a maximum might allow you to see it forming a "ball" surface. Actually, there is more water than space within the glass, in that case.

Play around a bit with a glas and water, and you will see.

Dirty glasses might show other results. Because the layer in between the water and the glas might have other properties than the glas itself. In the lab, I see this with some plastic tubes. :)