Questions on CnCNet

hxazgalor

UPDATE: Changed the subject and added some other questions :P

Hello all! Newbie here, nice to be in this awesome community XD

I have an issue here. For some reason when I try to connect to CnCNet via Twisted Insurrection's launcher, I keep getting a connection error, as you can see in the pic I've attached here. This problem occurs for both TI and YR.

I don't know if there's some firewall rule blocking cncnetclient.dat or if there may be some other problem that I'm not aware of. I'm also connected to the Internet, but I don't know what might be the problem with the connection. Can anyone advise?

Also, since we're on the subject of CnCNet, how do I play Yuri's Revenge through CnCNet (v5)? I have the retail version of the game installed on my PC and it can run MO awesomely (and MO can be played via CnCNet). How do I get CnCNet to work with my copy of YR? Many thanks :)

cncnet-error.jpg.7a6216f78f1132f4ab3de2a9e658d62d.jpg

Possibly destination port 6667 (IRC) is being blocked somewhere between you and the CnCNet IRC servers (see this post). Boot up a Linux live CD and run the command

traceroute -p 6667 irc.cncnet.org

to verify if that's the case (if from a certain port on you only see asterisks instead of replies, it's being blocked there).

Should it turn out it's being blocked indeed, you're unfortunately a bit out of luck for now (unless you have a way to connect that would let you avoid the block, such as VPN or proxy). Both TI and YR use Rampastring's client which (unlike FunkyFr3sh's client for TD/RA1/D2k/TS) currently doesn't allow to specify alternate destination ports. If it's your ISP who is blocking the port (one of the first few hops in the traceroute), you'd simply have to try connecting from a location served by another ISP who does not impose such a restriction.

Can you connect to the lobby in C&C1, RA1 or TS?