ISSUE RESOLVED: Red Alert 2 wouldn't install on W10

Techno_Man

Question

Both my games are on normal, standard edition Red Alert 2 and Yuri's Revenge CD's.

If the topic title is vague, let me explain.

This morning, I started playing Yuri's Revenge. I got bored, so I decided to finish up the allied campaign for normal Red Alert 2. When I put the disk in and tried to start the game, nothing opened. I tried to uninstall both games and restart my computer. When I tried to reinstall Red Alert 2, nothing opened; I even tried running Setup.exe directly from the disk, and used many different compatibility options with no avail. Now I can't play either game because Red Alert 2 won't install, and Yuri's Revenge requires RA2 to install.

Is there something wrong with my Red Alert 2 CD? :S

11 answers to this question

Both my games are on normal, standard edition Red Alert 2 and Yuri's Revenge CD's.

This morning, I started playing Yuri's Revenge. I got bored, so I decided to finish up the allied campaign for normal Red Alert 2. When I put the disk in and tried to start the game, nothing opened. I tried to uninstall both games and restart my computer. When I tried to reinstall Red Alert 2, nothing opened; I even tried running Setup.exe directly from the disk, and used many different compatibility options with no avail. Now I can't play either game because Red Alert 2 won't install, and Yuri's Revenge requires RA2 to install.

Something to do with Windows 10 disabling some required functionality for your RA2 cd's to run and install. As a workaround, you could download the Free RA2 Origin bundle (which includes YR). Details are at the bottom of the page - http://cncnet.org/red-alert-2

Something to do with Windows 10 disabling some required functionality for your RA2 cd's to run and install. As a workaround, you could download the Free RA2 Origin bundle (which includes YR). Details are at the bottom of the page - http://cncnet.org/red-alert-2