I propose an idea, probably far-fetched though.

evilneon

I've been playing command and conquer games for a long while, since I was a kid even. I'm by no means a pro or superior to any player, I just enjoy playing the game because of how simple it is to understand and to play. My problem lies within the newer operating systems and platforms becoming so far ahead of this old game, that the game has become unstable and requires constant patchwork just to run..

So I'm not a programmer yet. Or much of one at all, but how cool would it be to have an entirely new engine to run a game that uses the same parameters as RA2, same setups and everything, just visually and mechanically enhanced to be more "playable"? Keeping the entity stats all the exact same, changing nothing except for the visual and overall stability. I would get into programming just for this purpose.

Like the title says, it sounds a little far-fetched considering I know jack-all about programming, but I am well practiced in the design and audio parts of production, so I just need the third piece of the puzzle. I'd love a team to work with if anyone's interested.

Welcome to the forums.

To be honest, I don't think that this is worth the hassle. It's a lot of work, and there's no guarantee that the new engine would be future proof. RA2 runs fine up until Windows 7, and even getting it to run under 10 isn't that much work.

Lastly, a project like this already exists: Some of the OpenRA people are working on RA2 in OpenRA.

12 hours ago, evilneon said:

I'd love a team to work with if anyone's interested.

I've had a similar idea in the past to make an RTS game that has very similar gameplay to RA2. 

Sadly I'm no programmer either, I can do graphics, web, level/map, visual designs.

Your best bet is the OpenRA project, though they might change the gameplay dramatically for balance purposes. I'm not really a fan of the way they balance games.