CnCNet5 does not install properly, just looking to run on native resolution of my monitor.

TheYosh

Question

Hello all! 

Hoping to get some help here with Red Alert2 to run on my native resolution.  Weird thing is I had it running fine up until EA updated the game yesterday.  I'm running Windows10 and as stated earlier I purchased the game through EA.  The game plays completely fine on the given resolutions in game but would like to get back to playing my monitors native resolution again since it just looks horrible at the games default settings. I've tried to modify the RA2.ini file already but that hasn't worked.  I attached the crash log as well per the instructions.

I don't know what I did to make it work before, I literally had a list of all the possible screen resolution listed within the game options menu before and now it is gone.  I am not a computer expert by any stretch of the imagination, just a old guy that wants to relive the days of no worries with Red Alert 2 in front of him.  

Love communities like this and is there a way I can donate towards the up keep of this forum?  I was looking for it earlier but could not find it, cheers!

TheYosh

ClientCrashLog_2024_03_08_22_01.txt

13 answers to this question

Hey! seems like you're running the client with a super ultrawide monitor. The client currently has a bug with this.

Open up the folder where you got RA2/YR installed and look for the file "RA2MD.ini" (may show up as RA2MD with the type configuration file). Open it and under "[Video]" change the settings there to this. If they don't exist just add them there.

ClientResolutionX=1024
ClientResolutionY=768
BorderlessWindowedClient=false

Save and try opening the CnCNet client again.

Thanks for the replies!

8 hours ago, MJ_ said:

Hey there.

Are you using CnCNet to launch the game? If not, it's highly recommended to do so. 

Here's an in depth tutorial on how to play RA2YR using CnCNet. https://youtu.be/_EBqST0AZ9k?si=o4iPqQ4ffeXaehJY