Bringing OpenRA features to PortableRA

Zeus

So I discovered both OpenRA and PortableRA recently and have played several rounds of both.  I find myself loving the traditional composition of PortableRA, but missing some of the nice features of OpenRA.  Have any of the developers ever considered adding the following features as optional selections?

1. Queuing up units to be built

2. Improved wall building

3. Fog of War

4. Specifiable new unit deploy position (select a spot where newly built units move to automatically)

5. Game Timer

I realize that some people might say, "Just go play OpenRA if you want those things!"  The problem is I miss everything else about the original.

I'm no programmer, but I'll answer the questions the best I can.

All the changes in PortableRA was made by patching the game directly. I'm pretty sure that all the features are very hard to implement in assembler code considering that the source code of RA was never released and if they are possible the players might protest as these suggestions create fairly major gameplay changes. Some people even protested about the higher resolutions and mouse scroll in the sidebar.

[*]Would be hard to implement and changes the gameplay

[*]This feature is in Arda

[*]Been there since 1996. Just enable shroud regrows

[*]See point 1.

[*]Hard to implement

I'm pretty sure either CCHyper, Iran or AlexB can answer the questions better though.

• 3 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...